Updated – IPL Orange Cap Winners List (2008 – 2024)

The Indian Premier League (IPL), since its inception in 2008, has captivated fans. With its high-octane cricket id, nail-biting finishes, and dazzling displays of batting prowess.  One of the most coveted individual accolades in the IPL is the Orange Cap, awarded to the tournament’s leading run-scorer. This prestigious award recognizes consistency and sheer dominance with the bat, making it a fiercely contested prize.

The History of the Orange Cap

The Orange Cap tradition began in the inaugural IPL season in 2008. The cap itself is a vibrant orange, symbolic of the color associated with boundaries in cricket and the fiery spirit of a top run-scorer.

2023’s Orange Cap Winner: Shubman Gill Shines

The 2023 edition of the IPL saw the young Indian batsman Shubman Gill rise to the top.  Playing for the Gujarat Titans, Gill amassed a staggering 890 runs in 17 innings, showcasing his elegant stroke play and consistent run-scoring ability. His performance marked a changing of the guard, with a new generation of batsmen challenging the established order.

The IPL 2024 Contenders for the Orange Cap

With the 2024 season well underway, the race for the Orange Cap heats up. Let’s take a look at some of the players who could be in contention this year:

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings): The newly appointed captain of CSK, Gaikwad, is a proven run-scorer. His ability to anchor the innings and play long knocks makes him a strong contender.
  • Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans): The 2023 Orange Cap winner will be aiming to repeat his impressive feat this season. His aggressive batting style and hunger for runs make him a force to be reckoned with.
  • KL Rahul (Lucknow SuperGiants): The stylish right-hander has a phenomenal record in the IPL, having won the Orange Cap in 2020. His ability to adapt to different situations makes him a dangerous batsman.
  • David Warner (Delhi Capitals): The Australian stalwart is a three-time Orange Cap winner, known for his explosive batting at the top of the order. If he can find his form early on, he could be a major contender.
  • Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals): The English wicket-keeper batsman is a destructive opening batsman. His ability to score quickly and play big innings makes him a threat to any bowling attack.

A Look Back at the IPL Orange Cap Winners

Over the years, the IPL Orange Cap has been adorned by some of the most legendary batsmen in the world, including Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, and David Warner. Let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit some of the past winners:

  • 2008: Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings) – The Australian opener laid the foundation for the Orange Cap tradition. With a dominant performance, scoring a staggering 609 runs in the first-ever IPL season update on tigerexch247.
  • 2009: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) – The Master Blaster himself claimed the Orange Cap in 2009. Amassing 600 runs and proving that age is just a number when it comes to sheer brilliance.
  • 2010: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) – Tendulkar became the first player to win the Orange Cap twice, showcasing his enduring batting prowess.
  • 2011 & 2012: Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – The ‘Universe Boss’ unleashed his power-hitting dominance. Claiming the Orange Cap in consecutive years with scores of 608 and 738 runs, respectively.
  • 2013: Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) –  The reliable Mr. Cricket brought his experience and consistency to the table. Securing the Orange Cap with 533 runs.
  • 2014: Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders) – The elegant left-hander surprised many by topping the run-scoring charts with a tally of 470 runs.
  • 2015: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) –  Warner started his love affair with the Orange Cap. Scoring a mammoth 736 runs and marked the beginning of his reign as a dominant IPL batsman.
  • 2016: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – The ‘King’ himself claimed the Orange Cap with a score of 973 runs, showcasing his aggressive batting style and leadership qualities.
  • 2017: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – Warner secured his second Orange Cap with a total of 641 runs, solidifying his position as a force to be reckoned with.
  • 2018: Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – The New Zealand captain displayed his classy batting with 735 runs, leading Sunrisers Hyderabad to the final.
  • 2019: David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) – Warner’s dominance continued as he secured his third Orange Cap with a score of 692 runs, making him the only player to win the award three times.
  • 2020: KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab) – The stylish wicket-keeper batsman emerged as the leading run-scorer with 670 runs. Showcasing his versatility and ability to adapt to different situations.
  • 2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings) – The young Indian opener announced his arrival on the big stage with a magnificent 672 runs, leading CSK to the championship title.
  • 2023: Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans) – The young prodigy justified his talent, scoring a record-breaking 890 runs and leading the Gujarat Titans to their maiden IPL victory.

Beyond the Big Names: Unpredictable Factors

While the established stars will undoubtedly be vying for the Orange Cap, the IPL is known for throwing up unexpected heroes.  A young player breaking out, a change in batting order, or a team’s overall strategy can all influence the race.

Team Player List and Importance of Balance

It’s important to remember that the IPL is a team sport. While individual brilliance is celebrated, the team’s overall batting approach plays a crucial role in determining the Orange Cap winner.  A well-balanced batting line-up where different players contribute consistently can spread the runs around, hindering the chances of a single player dominating the run-scoring charts 

Beyond Runs: The Impact of Captaincy

The IPL 2024 also presents an interesting dynamic with young players like Gaikwad and Gill taking on captaincy roles for their respective teams.  Their ability to balance batting responsibilities with captaincy duties will be worth watching.

A Season of Intrigue and Record-Breaking Potential

The 2024 IPL promises to be a thrilling battle for the Orange Cap. With a mix of experienced veterans and rising stars in contention, the race is wide open.  Will a new player emerge, or will a familiar name reclaim the coveted prize? Only time will tell.

The Race for the 2024 Orange Cap

With the 2024 IPL season underway, the battle for the Orange Cap is already heating up game 365 live. Several talented batsmen, including the likes of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and David Warner, are vying for the coveted prize. It will be interesting to see if any of them can challenge the record set by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the previous season.

More Than Just Runs: The Impact of the Orange Cap

While the Orange Cap signifies a player’s ability to consistently score runs, it also reflects his impact on the team’s performance. Top run-scorers often play a crucial role in their team’s victories, anchoring the innings or providing explosive starts.

A Look Beyond the Orange Cap: IPL 2024 Team Player Lists

While the Orange Cap focuses on the leading run-scorer, the IPL is a team sport. Each team boasts a talented squad with unique strengths and weaknesses. To gain a well-rounded understanding of the tournament. One should also consider the overall team player lists available on the official IPL website or reputable cricket news outlets.

India’s fastest growing legal and fully licensed SportsBook and Online Cricket ID powered by Betfair.

Play with


Growing Sports Exchange